Coaches: Lars Lagerbäck & Heimir Hallgrímsson
Colours: Blue shirts, blue shorts, blue socks
Twitter: @FootballIceland

Group Opponents

v Portugal (14 June, Saint-Étienne)
v Hungary (18 June, Paris)
v Austria (22 June, Saint-Denis)

Euro Record

Tournament debut

Tournament Pedigree

Having tried and failed on numerous occasions, Iceland are in their first major tournament finals. Long seen as one of the continent’s also-rans, Strákarnir okkar (“Our boys”) were finally able to make the big leap after just missing out on qualification for the World Cup in 2014 when they were eliminated in the play-offs.

How They Got There

With the tournament being expanded from sixteen to twenty-four teams, one might have thought that Iceland were one of the lucky ones - but this is far from the truth. Their qualifying record of six victories, two draws and two defeats would have been good enough to make the final sixteen, and it is worth noting that one of these defeats and two draws too place after qualification was more or less assured.

Claiming the second automatic qualifying slot behind the Czech Republic, Iceland finished in front of both Turkey and former champions the Netherlands - with the Dutch being beaten both home and away.

v Czech Republic 2-1 (h), 1-2 (a)
v Turkey 3-0 (h), 0-1 (a)
v Netherlands 2-0 (h), 1-0 (a)
v Kazakhstan 0-0 (h), 3-0 (a)
v Latvia 2-2 (h), 3-0 (a)

Key Players

With six goals in the qualifying campaign, Swansea City’s Gylfi Sigurðsson will be Iceland’s man to watch in front of goal. For more sentimental reasons, eyes will also be on former Barcelona and Chelsea striker Eiður Guðjohnsen, one of the best players to come from the country in recent years.


Goalkeepers: Hannes Halldorsson (Bodo/Glimt), Ogmundur Kristinsson (Hammarby), Ingvar Jonsson (Sandefjord)

Defenders: Ari Skulason (OB), Hordur Magnusson (Cesena), Hjortur Hermannsson (PSV Eindhoven), Ragnar Sigurdsson (Krasnodar), Kari Arnason (Malmo), Sverrir Ingi Ingason (Lokeren), Birkir Sævarsson (Hammarby), Haukur Heidar Hauksson (AIK)

Midfielders: Emil Hallfredsson (Udinese), Gylfi Sigurdsson (Swansea), Aron Gunnarsson (Cardiff), Theodor Elmar Bjarnason (AGF), Arnor Ingvi Traustason (Norrkoping), Birkir Bjarnason (Basel), Johann Gudmundsson (Charlton), Eidur Gudjohnsen (Molde), Runar Mar Sigurjonsson (Sundsvall)

Forwards: Kolbeinn Sigthorsson (Nantes), Alfred Finnbogason (Augsburg), Jon Dadi Bodvarsson (Kaiserslautern)