Coach: Fatih Terim
Colours: Red shirts, black shorts, black socks

Group Opponents

v Croatia (12 June, Paris)
v Spain (17 June, Nice)
v Czech Republic (21 June, Lens)

Euros Record

Semi-Final (2008)
Quarter-Final (2000)
Group Stage (1996)

Tournament Pedigree

Although they have only qualified for four international tournaments in their entire history, Turkey have quite a good track record going for them. Last time they appeared at a tournament, at Euro 2008, they were one of the standout stories of the competition as dramatic victories over Switzerland, Czech Republic and Croatia saw them reach the Semi-Finals. It proved to be a step too far as they suffered defeat to Germany.

How They Got There

Turkey took advantage of the new format by becoming the side that qualified as the best third-place team. They made a lacklustre start to their campaign as they lost 3-0 at Iceland, 2-1 at home to Czech Republic and then drew 1-1 with Latvia. That was to be as bad it got for the Turks as victories over the Netherlands and Czech Republic along with a home victory over Iceland on the final group game saw them seal their place at the finals.

v Iceland 1-0 (h), 0-3 (a)
v Czech Republic 1-2 (h), 2-0 (a)
v Netherlands 3-0 (h), 1-1 (a)
v Latvia 1-1 (h), 1-1 (a)
v Kazakhstan 3-1 (h), 1-0 (a)

Key Players

Barcelona’s Arda Turan is the standout name in this Turkey side. As captain of the team, his role from midfield will be crucial if Turkey are to negotiate a challenging group. Other players to look out for are Fenerbahce’s Memhet Topal, Mainz’s Yunus Malli and Bayer Leverkusen’s Hakan Calhanoglu.


Goalkeepers: Volkan Babacan (Medipol Basaksehir), Onur Recep Kivrak (Trabzonspor), Harun Tekin (Bursaspor)

Defenders: Gokhan Gonul, Sener Ozbayrakli, Caner Erkin, Mehmet Topal (all Fenerbahce), Hakan Kadir Balta, Semih Kaya (both Galatasaray), Ismail Koybasi (Besiktas), Ahmet Yilmaz Calik (Genclerbirligi)

Midfielders: Selcuk Inan (Galatasaray), Emre Mor (Nordsjaelland), Ozan Tufan, Volkan Sen (both Fenerbahce), Oguzhan Ozyakup, Olcay Sahan (both Besiktas), Hakan Calhanoglu (Bayer Leverkusen), Nuri Sahin (Borussia Dortmund), Arda Turan (Barcelona), Yunus Malli (Mainz 05)

Forwards: Burak Yilmaz (Beijing Guoan), Cenk Tosun (Besiktas)